Wrapped in gaffa

Programming, Art, Music, Philosophy, Politics

Battle for Wesnoth

with 4 comments

Graphics (5/10):
Good looking 2D graphics.

Sound (5/10):
The music is great, but I get the feeling it isn’t synced to support the gameplay. The fighting sound effects are good, but that is all the sound effects there is. No audio in dialogs.

Gameplay (8/10):
8! 8!? Yes, 8. At first the game looked like something I would throw away before I even completed the first level, but as I began to think of the turnbased gameplay as a boardgame/puzzle I got addicted. Who doesn’t like puzzles? The rules are simple, but that is what makes it great. It is not an RPG you get lost in. You have a castle where you can recruit players with your main character. You can take over houses to get more money and your characters get 8 healthpoints if they skip a turn staying in a house. Your characters have experience points and can be promoted when they get enough experience. You can use the environment to your advantage. You can hide in a forrest or fight an enemy standing in water. The evil races increase their chances of a good hit by 25% by night and yours are down 25%. The rules are pretty simple, and I like the simplicity. I’m not much into RPGs because you have to devote so much time to learning and understanding them. Battle of Wesnoth is simple and great!

Community (10/10):
The team behind Battle for Wesnoth has brilliantly included the users in the making of the game. It is easy to modify the game and all you need to know is one click away on Wesnoth.org. Wesnoth.org also has a great forum, where users gather to create art, music/sound, translations and maps with peer reviewing. This project has the spirit of Free Software.

Overall (8/10):
You might not agree, but luckily I’m the one who decides which games are great and which games are not. I can guarantee that this game is a top scorer and that 8/10 wont be topped in the next couple of games I review. As a plus it works on Linux, Windows and MacOSX. I couldn’t connect to the official internet server as the version in Ubuntu Edgy repositories is older than the server version, but I doubt multiplayer would have changed my rating of this game.

Go grab it!

Written by gaffa

2007-01-25 at 22:19

Posted in Games

Tagged with , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, just popped in here through a random link. Hi, firstly I’d like to say your site is great and very impressive. Enjoyed the reading. ,

    Eddie

    2008-05-30 at 14:04

  2. This specific post, “Battle for Wesnoth | Wrapped in gaffa” was outstanding.

    I am creating out a reproduce to present to my personal close
    friends. Thanks for your effort-Earnest

    Tiara

    2013-06-07 at 15:30

  3. The following post, “Battle for Wesnoth | Wrapped in gaffa” reveals the fact that you truly understand exactly
    what u are writing about! I absolutely agree with
    your blog. With thanks ,Valeria

    Chase

    2013-08-09 at 03:35

  4. “Battle for Wesnoth | Wrapped in gaffa” was a really
    excellent blog post, . I hope you keep writing and I will
    keep following! Thanks for the post -Vaughn

    Teddy

    2013-08-09 at 12:35


Leave a Reply

